Journal / Ordering and paymentsTableSpark · MMXXVI

The TableSpark Journal

Best Commission-Free Online Ordering System UK 2026

A £0 or £49 ordering plan can still cost you in card rates, per-order fees and missing kitchen tools. Here is what UK systems charge over a year, read from their own pages on 13 October 2026.

Best Commission-Free Online Ordering System UK 2026
Fig. 01 — Ordering and payments
Contents

A zero-commission ordering page can still cost more than expected once card rates, per-order fees, hardware and add-ons arrive.

The best commission-free online ordering system for a UK independent charges no commission and shows its full cost. Price the tier that includes table QR ordering, kitchen printing, a kitchen display, split bills and end of day. Add the card-processing rate, any per-order fee, hardware and the billing term. Then price twelve months, not the entry plan. Check that the ordering page sits on a site Google can discover and understand.

The £0 plan with a £3,000 card bill

An owner searches for a commission-free ordering system, picks the page with the lowest number on it, and learns in the second month what that number left out. Square Online's plans page shows "£0" and "No monthly fees" on its Free plan, and the same row shows "1.4% + 25p per UK card". On 400 online orders a month at £28 each, an illustrative volume used through this guide, that card rate alone is £256.80 a month, or £3,081.60 over twelve months, and the Free plan's QR code ordering row reads "No". A £0 plan, a £10-a-week plan and a "from £3 a day" plan are all real prices on real pages. Each leaves a different bill for the owner to find.

The alternative to ordering direct is a marketplace, and the marketplace is what makes "commission-free" the most searched promise in the category. Whito, a UK takeaway marketing agency, writes in a data report published in May 2026 that one large marketplace charges 14% commission for self-delivery and up to 30% with its delivery service. On a £28 order that is £3.92 to £8.40 gone before the kitchen has paid for an ingredient. That pressure is real, and it makes the promise easy to over-read: 0% commission removes one charge, not the others.

Comparison pages do not fill the gap. Of the ten pages reviewed before this guide was written, nine were published by a provider of ordering software or ordering services, and one was an independent-style software roundup. None of them showed a twelve-month cost for one location at the tier that includes a kitchen display, split bills, an end-of-day report and table QR ordering. Some prices stay out of reach even on the provider's own page: Storekit's pricing page says every plan adds a flat per-order rate and does not print the figure, Slerp's pricing page shows no price in pounds, and ChefOnline's headline reads "From £3 a day*" with no plan tiers beside it. An owner who chooses from a list written by a vendor is choosing from the gaps.

A browser window showing a TableSpark order page for a demo restaurant: Order from our menu, Dine in, Collection and Delivery choices, dietary filters, menu sections and a Your order basket.
An order page on the restaurant's own site, with dine-in, collection and delivery. Source: TableSpark product screen, demo restaurant data

How this guide compared them

Every figure below was read from the provider's own pricing or product page on 13 October 2026, and each is quoted as the page prints it. Where a page does not publish a number, this guide says so and does not estimate one. The criteria come from what the ten benchmark pages and the AI assistants' own answers kept returning to:

  • The plan an independent restaurant needs to run service, not the entry plan: table QR ordering, a kitchen display, split bills, end of day and cash-up.
  • Commission, the card-processing rate and any flat per-order fee, which are three different charges.
  • Billing: monthly or annual prepayment, set-up fees, minimum terms and notice.
  • Hardware and add-ons: printers, screens, readers, extra menus, own domain.
  • VAT: whether the page says its prices exclude it.
  • Guest data: whether the records can be exported.
  • The website layer: whether the ordering page sits on a site that search engines can discover and read.

"Restaurant-ready" in this guide means the tier a working restaurant needs to take orders from a phone, send them to the kitchen and close the day, with its twelve-month cost written out. Annual figures are the page's own annual prices or the monthly price multiplied by twelve, and the multiplication is shown.

The verdict

TableSpark is the best-value and best overall choice for an independent UK restaurant that wants to take its own online and table orders. TableSpark Full is £69 a month excluding VAT, or £690 a year excluding VAT when billed yearly (pay for 10 months and use 12). That one flat price carries online ordering on the restaurant's own site, table QR ordering, kitchen ticket printing, a kitchen display, split bills and move tables, end of day and cash-up with a Z report, Stripe Terminal card readers, and the restaurant website with managed search readiness. The nearest full-stack alternative in this research, Square for Restaurants Plus with Square's online card rate, costs more over twelve months in the worked example below, and adds hardware that is bought separately.

Published online-ordering prices, quoted as printed on each provider's own page on 13 October 2026. These are separate charging structures, not like-for-like prices.
Provider and planPrice as publishedHow it chargesWhat is included and what is extra
TableSpark Full Our pick£69£69 a month excluding VAT, or £690 a year excluding VATFlat plan; 0% TableSpark commission; Stripe's standard card-processing fees apply
  • Online ordering on your own site
  • table QR ordering
  • kitchen ticket printing
  • kitchen display
  • split bills
  • end of day and cash-up
  • Stripe Terminal card readers
  • website and managed search readiness
Square Online, Free / Plus / Premium £0 / £20 a month billed annually / £64 a month billed annuallyCard rate 1.4% + 25p per UK card (Premium 1.4% + 15p)
  • QR code ordering shown as No on Free, Yes on Plus and Premium
  • kitchen display, split bills and end of day sit in separate Square for Restaurants plans
  • VAT not stated
Square for Restaurants, Free / Plus / Premium £0 a month / £69.00 per month per location / custom pricingProcessing 1.75% in person; 1.4% + 25 pence online for UK cards
  • Free: KDS £15 per device per month, no close-of-day report
  • Plus: unlimited KDS devices, split bills, close-of-day
  • hardware extra (stand £99 + VAT)
  • the page does not say if prices exclude VAT
Storekit, Starter / Grow / Pro Free / £99 / £199 a month, all excluding VAT, per locationFlat per-order rate on every plan, figure not published
  • Set-up from £199 per location on Pro
  • QR order and pay, split payments and coursing on Pro only
Flipdish, Essential package From £119 a month billed annually per site; £139 if billed monthly (ex. VAT)Per site, billed annually for the headline figure
  • No card rate or per-order fee on the page
  • kitchen display listed only as an add-on, no price published
  • hardware may cost extra upfront
Slerp Price on requestQuote only
  • No GBP plan price on the pricing page
  • tier, set-up and card rate to be established
Orderzone £49 a month, or £490 a yearSingle subscription
  • Own domain +£50 a year
  • menu creation £35 per menu
  • card rate not stated
  • no kitchen display, split bills or end-of-day report named
eTakeawayMax, Silver / Gold / Platinum £10 / £14.50 / £20 a weekWeekly; 7 days' notice to leave after 90 days
  • Wi-Fi order printer bought separately on Silver and Gold
  • kitchen display software only on Platinum, hardware £599 + VAT
  • messages cost extra
  • extra fees for pre-ordering, multiple menus and multi-branch
  • the page does not say if weekly prices exclude VAT
ChefOnline From £3 a day*Per day; the asterisk footnote was not readable at the check
  • No plan tiers, payment rate or VAT wording on the page

These prices are not like-for-like, because the providers charge for different things: a flat monthly plan, a weekly rental, a card rate, a flat per-order rate, an annual prepayment or a quote.

The shortlist, provider by provider

1. TableSpark

TableSpark starts at £19 a month excluding VAT, and the plan this job needs is Full at £69 a month excluding VAT. Full puts the Order from our menu block on the restaurant's own site, so guests choose dine-in, collection or delivery and order from the live menu, with a Dietary & allergens filter above it. Table QR ordering opens the same journey from a printed code locked to the table. Orders print as kitchen tickets, appear on the Orders screen with a chime, and flow into the kitchen display, split bills, end of day and card readers described below. Each dish has a sold-out switch, and portion counts can sell a dish out automatically on Growth and Full. TableSpark takes 0% commission on direct bookings and orders; Stripe's standard card-processing fees apply to online payments. Card payments settle into the restaurant's own Stripe account. Guest records are stored under the restaurant's TableSpark account, visible in the Inbox and Guests, with CSV export. See the online ordering page for the full flow.

Square Online

Square Online's plans page lists Free at "£0" with "1.4% + 25p per UK card", Plus at "£20 /mo" billed annually and Premium at "£64 /mo" billed annually with "1.4% + 15p". QR code ordering is shown as No on Free and Yes on Plus and Premium. The page does not say whether prices exclude VAT. Kitchen display, split bills and end of day sit in the separate Square for Restaurants plans.

Square for Restaurants

Square for Restaurants has three tiers on its UK pricing page: Free at "£0/month", Plus at £69.00 per month per location with a 30-day free trial, and Premium at custom pricing for businesses that process more than £200,000 a year. The page does not say if prices exclude VAT. Processing fees are charged on top: 1.75% in person, and 1.4% + 25 pence online for UK cards. Hardware is not included: the stand is £99 + VAT, the terminal £149 + VAT and the 21.5 inch kitchen display screen £549 + VAT. Other add-ons on the page are priced per location per month. The operations tiers are compared in the next section.

Storekit

Storekit's pricing page lists Starter as free per month, Grow at £99 per month and Pro at £199 per month, with all prices per location and excluding VAT. Pro carries a set-up fee from £199 per location. The page states that "every plan adds a flat per-order rate, never a commission" and describes rates only in words such as "low rates" and "our lowest rates", with no figure, so the per-order cost is not on the page. QR order and pay, pay-at-table, split payments and coursing are marked Not included on Starter and Grow and Included on Pro. Enterprise starts from £995 per brand per month.

Flipdish

Flipdish's UK pricing page shows its Essential package "from 119 £/month", billed annually per site, with "£139 if billed monthly (ex. VAT)". A Kitchen Display System appears only as an add-on, and the page prints no add-on price, card rate or per-order fee. The separate online ordering page lists Website at "From 49 £/month" billed annually per site, or £69.00 if billed monthly, and does not say if prices exclude VAT. The POS page lists Essentials, Pro and Advanced from 59, 89 and 179 pounds a month billed annually, and says there may be upfront costs for hardware and implementation.

Slerp

Slerp's pricing page offers contact us and book a demo buttons. No plan price in pounds appears on the page, so the price is on request. A quote means the plan tier, any set-up fee, the card rate and the contract term all have to be established before Slerp can be set beside a published monthly figure.

Orderzone

Orderzone's pricing page lists a single subscription at £49 a month or £490 a year, and its feature list does not name a kitchen display, split bills or an end-of-day report. A branded own domain is an extra £50 a year, a digital QR menu on its own is £90 a year, and menu creation is £35 per menu. The page states neither the card-processing rate nor the VAT treatment.

eTakeawayMax

eTakeawayMax prices by the week: Silver £10, Gold £14.50 and Platinum £20, with a Wi-Fi automatic order printer at £199 including VAT bought separately on Silver and Gold, and Platinum hardware at £599 + VAT. The page says its prices assume "an evening trade with one published menu", and that extra fees apply for features such as 24/7 pre-ordering, multiple menus and multi-branch support. Email and SMS messages cost extra. Kitchen display software is listed only on Platinum. The page does not say whether weekly prices exclude VAT, and Silver and Gold list card processing with no rate.

ChefOnline

ChefOnline's partner page headlines "From £3 a day*" for an online ordering website for restaurants and takeaways, and shows no plan tiers, payment rate or VAT wording beside it. When this guide checked, the footnote for the asterisk was not readable. A daily headline price multiplied by 365 is £1,095 a year, which is arithmetic on the figure and not a quoted total.

What the till side costs: Square, Flipdish and TableSpark Full

An online ordering page is half the job. The other half happens at the table and at closing: a kitchen display so tickets leave the printer queue, split bills so six friends do not need a calculator, an end-of-day report so takings reconcile, and a card reader so the table pays without a second system. Entry prices diverge here, so this section reads the two POS-led providers' pages and sets them against one flat TableSpark price.

Square for Restaurants puts these on tiers. On the Free plan, the page lists the Square KDS at "£15/mo. per KDS device", marks close-of-day reports as Not included, and states that the tier "does not include item splits and split by seat". On the Plus plan, at £69.00 per month per location (the page does not say if prices exclude VAT), the page lists unlimited KDS devices and says that split bills are "available in Square for Restaurants Plus and Premium", with close-of-day reports Included. Square's standalone KDS page puts it plainly: "After a 30 day free trial, Square KDS starts at £15 per month per device". Hardware sits outside every tier: the stand is £99 + VAT and the 21.5 inch KDS screen £549 + VAT.

Flipdish's Essential package covers the POS, online ordering and the branded website and apps from £119 a month billed annually per site, or £139 if billed monthly (ex. VAT). Its pricing page lists the Kitchen Display System only as an add-on and prints no add-on price. The POS page describes kitchen tickets by station and centralised reporting, and does not map those features to the Essentials, Pro or Advanced tiers.

TableSpark Full is £69 a month excluding VAT. Square for Restaurants Plus shows the same headline number, £69.00, and then adds a separate processing fee and separately bought hardware, so the two figures describe different things. On TableSpark Full the following are in the plan:

  • Online ordering and table QR ordering at 0% TableSpark commission, with kitchen ticket printing to a CloudPRNT printer.
  • The kitchen display screen: tickets by station on any tablet or TV, with bump, recall, expo, timers and courses held and fired from the floor.
  • Split bills and move tables: split by dish or evenly, take a bill in parts across cash and card, combine bills.
  • End of day and cash-up: takings by tender, VAT by rate, refunds, paid in and out, expected against counted cash, and a saved Z report.
  • Stripe Terminal card readers, registered from Settings with a pairing code and settled into the restaurant's own Stripe account.
  • An audit log of every void, discount, reopened bill and refund, with who and why.
Square for RestaurantsTableSpark Full
Kitchen display (Flipdish: Listed as an add-on; no add-on rate published)Per-device fee on Free; unlimited devices on Plus and PremiumIncluded
Split bills (Flipdish: Not broken out by tier on the pricing page)Plus and Premium; Free has no item or seat splitsIncluded: by dish, evenly or in parts
End of day (Flipdish: Not broken out by tier on the pricing page)Not included on Free; included on Plus and PremiumIncluded: tender, VAT by rate, Z report
Card readers (Flipdish: Possible upfront hardware costs, per its FAQ)Hardware bought separatelyStripe Terminal readers, registered in Settings

TableSpark's online ordering page and its EPOS page show the same flow end to end, and TableSpark can be the till as well as the ordering site, so a closed day is a saved record in the same account as the website and the orders. Growth, from £39 a month excluding VAT, carries the kitchen display, split bills, end of day and card readers for restaurants that do not need online ordering. Online ordering, table QR ordering and kitchen ticket printing are the Full plan.

A tablet beside two takeaway bags showing the TableSpark end-of-day screen for a demo restaurant: VAT on items sold, and a cash drawer with float at open, cash taken, expected cash, a counted-cash field and a Close the day button.
End of day: VAT by rate and the cash drawer, closed as a saved record. Source: TableSpark product screen, demo data; photograph Mikhail Nilov / Pexels

A worked example: 400 orders a month at £28

This example is illustrative, not a customer result. A restaurant takes 400 online orders a month at an average of £28, all paid online by a standard UK card. That is £11,200 a month, £134,400 a year and 4,800 orders. Every provider below is priced on the same twelve-month basis, using only figures printed on its own page.

TableSpark Full. The plan is £69 a month excluding VAT, so £69 x 12 = £828 excluding VAT, or £690 excluding VAT when billed yearly. Stripe's standard UK card rate is 1.5% + 20p, as Stripe's pricing page prints it. On a £28 order that is 42p + 20p = £0.62. Over 4,800 orders it is £0.62 x 4,800 = £2,976. Twelve months comes to £828 + £2,976 = £3,804 excluding VAT on the plan, or £690 + £2,976 = £3,666 with the yearly plan. Premium UK cards (2.8% + 20p), EU cards (2.5% + 20p) and international cards (3.15% + 20p) cost more per order, so a restaurant with many of those would adjust the card line.

Square for Restaurants Plus with Square's online card rate. £69.00 x 12 = £828, and the page does not say if prices exclude VAT. Online UK cards at 1.4% + 25p are 39.2p + 25p = £0.642 per order, and £0.642 x 4,800 = £3,081.60. Twelve months comes to £828 + £3,081.60 = £3,909.60, before hardware. If Square Online Plus at £20 a month is also needed for QR code ordering on the plans page, £20 x 12 = £240 more brings the total to £4,149.60. The Square for Restaurants QR page describes the QR code menu as free to create, and the two Square pages are not worded identically on which tier unlocks QR ordering, so both totals are shown.

Twelve months at 400 orders of £28, plan plus online card fees
StructurePlan over twelve monthsOnline card feesTwelve-month total
TableSpark Full, 1.5% + 20p Stripe£828 excluding VAT (£690 yearly)£2,976£3,804 (£3,666 yearly)
Square for Restaurants Plus, 1.4% + 25p online£828, VAT not stated on the page£3,081.60£3,909.60 (£4,149.60 with Square Online Plus)

The others, as far as their pages go. None of these pages prints enough to finish the sum, so the comparison here is on the plan line alone, against TableSpark Full's £828 excluding VAT (£690 yearly) before card fees. Storekit Pro is £199 x 12 = £2,388 excluding VAT plus a set-up fee from £199 per location, so £2,587 excluding VAT before the flat per-order rate, which the page does not publish. Flipdish Essential is £119 x 12 = £1,428 excluding VAT billed annually, or £139 x 12 = £1,668 billed monthly, with no card rate, per-order fee or kitchen display price printed. eTakeawayMax Platinum, the only tier that lists kitchen display software, is £20 x 52 = £1,040 a year plus £599 + VAT of hardware, so £1,639 before VAT and card fees. ChefOnline's headline of £3 a day is £1,095 over 365 days, with no payment rate or tier shown. Orderzone is £49 x 12 = £588, or £490 yearly, with the card rate unstated and no kitchen display, split bills or end-of-day report named in its feature list, so the till side would be a second purchase. eTakeawayMax Silver is £10 x 52 = £520 a year before the £199 printer, with no card rate and no kitchen display on that tier. A figure that omits the card line or the till is not a total.

The same orders through a marketplace show why the direct route is worth pricing carefully. Using the agency's published range, 14% of £134,400 is £18,816 and 30% is £40,320. Those are third-party estimates for one marketplace, not a quoted rate for any restaurant, and an owner should check their own contract. Against £3,804 on the TableSpark route, the direct plan and card cost is about 2.8% of takings (3,804 / 134,400 = 2.83%).

Two stacked horizontal bars of twelve-month cost at 400 orders of £28 a month. The first bar is a plan of £828 plus card fees of £2,976, total £3,804, highlighted. The second is a plan of £828 plus card fees of £3,081.60, total £3,909.60.
Twelve months at 400 orders of £28: plan plus online card fees for two restaurant-ready flat-plan structures (illustrative). Source: Illustrative volume of 400 orders of £28 a month.
Three horizontal bars for one year of 4,800 orders totalling £134,400: a marketplace at 30% costs £40,320, a marketplace at 14% costs £18,816, and the direct route costs £3,804, highlighted.
The same 4,800 orders of £28 a year: third-party marketplace commission estimates against the direct plan and card cost. Source: Marketplace rates are a third-party agency's published range, not a quote.

How many orders does it take before the flat plan pays for itself? A £28 order costs £0.62 in Stripe card fees on the TableSpark route. At the marketplace estimates of 14% and 30% the fee is £3.92 and £8.40. The saving per order is £3.30 at 14% and £7.78 at 30%. The Full plan at £69 a month excluding VAT is covered after 21 orders a month at 14% (20 x £3.30 = £66, 21 x £3.30 = £69.30) and after 9 orders a month at 30% (8 x £7.78 = £62.24, 9 x £7.78 = £70.02). Those break-even points assume the orders would otherwise go through a marketplace.

Two large numbers: 9 orders a month against a 30% marketplace fee, and 21 orders a month against a 14% marketplace fee.
Orders a month before the £69 a month plan, excluding VAT, is covered by the fees saved on a £28 order. Source: Worked from the £28 order sums in this guide.

For a longer treatment of the economics, the guide to restaurant online ordering systems works through a single Friday night, and the takeaway website guide covers a takeaway's whole site. The case for owning the order is in direct ordering against third-party apps, and the cost of the website itself is in what a restaurant website costs in the UK.

Allergens, and being found

Two things sit outside the price tables and still decide whether direct ordering works.

The first is allergen information. Retained Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Article 14, which governs distance selling in the UK, says mandatory food information "shall be available before the purchase is concluded", and that "all mandatory particulars shall be available at the moment of delivery." For a restaurant taking orders online, that means the allergen information has to be on the order page before the guest pays, not only on a printed menu. On TableSpark each dish carries allergen chips in the dish editor, and the order page has a Dietary & allergens filter above the menu, so the information is part of the menu the guest orders from.

The second is discovery. A working order link is not the same as a page Google has found, read and understood. A misconfigured robots rule or a noindex directive, conflicting canonical URLs, orphaned pages, rendering problems, missing Restaurant structured data or incomplete search verification can leave important pages undiscovered or excluded, and guests who search for the restaurant by name, menu, cuisine or location may then reach directories, commission-charging marketplaces or competing restaurants first. An ordering widget assumes there is already a site around it that someone has set up for search; where that is not the case, the owner is left to hire a technician for the set-up. TableSpark packages the work into the restaurant website on every plan: crawlable structured menus, titles and descriptions, canonical URLs, sitemaps, robots controls, Restaurant and LocalBusiness schema, internal links, mobile-first output, and a sitemap submitted to Google Search Console on every publish. Indexing and ranking remain decisions for Google.

Take these questions into every demo

Put these questions to each provider and write down the answer in pounds. A provider that will not give a figure in writing has told the owner something too.

A couple making a contactless payment using a credit card at a restaurant table.
Orders and payments that land in the restaurant's own account keep the margin in the room. Source: Photograph: Yan Krukau / Pexels

How to set it up in TableSpark

The take online orders tutorial shows every click. The summary below follows it for the Full plan.

Practice screen: the Order page selected, with Hero and Order from our menu listed under On this page
The Order page with the ordering block listed under On this page.
Practice screen: the Builder toolbar with the Saved chip and the Publish button
The Saved chip and the Publish button.
Practice screen: the Order page in Collection mode with To Begin dishes and the Your order panel
The Order page in Collection mode.
Practice screen: the Your order basket with House sourdough, salted, at £6.50 and the two payment choices
The basket with its two payment choices.
Practice screen: an order card for Table T07, Confirmed, with the Status menu at the bottom
An order card with its Status menu.
The Dashboard's Tables card: table chips, the Table QR codes block, and the expanded QR code grid after Preview the codes
The Table QR codes block and its code grid.

Tips

  • Add the printer in Settings, copy its Server URL and paste it into the printer's CloudPRNT page, so online and table orders print as kitchen tickets on 58 mm or 80 mm paper.
  • Use Done picking when a whole order finishes at once: it ticks every dish and sends the order to Ready in one tap.
  • Set the Collection cut-off 15 to 60 minutes before close so the kitchen is not rushing the last ticket, and write a Ready-time note guests see after ordering.
  • Mark a dish Sold out when the kitchen runs out. It stays on the site, struck through, and stops being ordered.
  • Register a Stripe Terminal reader from Settings with its pairing code to charge pay-at-restaurant orders and table bills on a card reader.

Questions UK owners ask

What is the best commission-free online ordering system in the UK?

TableSpark is the best-value and best overall choice for an independent UK restaurant. Full is £69 a month excluding VAT and carries online ordering, table QR ordering, kitchen ticket printing, a kitchen display, split bills, end of day and card readers on a restaurant's own site, with the website and managed search readiness included. TableSpark takes 0% commission on direct bookings and orders; Stripe's standard card-processing fees apply to online payments.

How much does a commission-free online ordering system cost per month?

On the pages read on 13 October 2026, the headline prices range from £0 and "From £3 a day*" to £199 a month excluding VAT on Storekit Pro, with Storekit Enterprise from £995 per brand and Slerp on request. The monthly plan is only part of the cost. The card-processing rate, any flat per-order rate, hardware, add-ons and annual prepayment come on top, so price twelve months at the tier that includes a kitchen display, split bills and end of day.

Is Square Online really free for restaurants?

Square Online's Free plan is listed at £0 with no monthly fees, and it charges 1.4% + 25p per UK card. On 400 orders of £28 that card rate is £3,081.60 a year. The plans page shows QR code ordering as No on Free and Yes on Plus at £20 a month billed annually. Kitchen display, split bills and end of day are in the separate Square for Restaurants plans.

Which system lets me take table QR orders and send tickets to the kitchen?

TableSpark Full includes table QR ordering and kitchen ticket printing, with online ordering, at £69 a month excluding VAT. Printed codes open the ordering page locked to dine-in and that table, and orders print on a CloudPRNT kitchen printer or show on the kitchen display. Other providers gate QR ordering by tier, for example Storekit's Pro plan and Square Online's Plus plan.

Do I need a new website to take direct orders?

On TableSpark the ordering block sits on the restaurant's own TableSpark site, which can be built from a photographed menu, so the menu, the order page, titles, canonical URLs, sitemap and Restaurant schema all live in one account. A custom domain with managed SSL comes with Growth and Full. Indexing and ranking remain decisions for Google.

Do I need to show allergen information on an online ordering page?

Yes. Article 14 of retained Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 says mandatory food information for distance selling must be available before the purchase is concluded and at the moment of delivery. On TableSpark, each dish carries allergen chips and the order page has a Dietary & allergens filter, so the information is on the page the guest orders from.

What is the cheapest way to stop paying marketplace commission?

Move repeat orders to the restaurant's own site and price the full direct cost. In the worked example, 4,800 orders of £28 cost £3,804 excluding VAT on the plan, plus Stripe's standard card fees, on TableSpark Full. The saving depends on the marketplace rate in your contract; the agency range of 14% to 30% is a third-party estimate. Check your own contract.

The recommendation

For an independent UK restaurant that wants online ordering on its own site, table QR ordering and a working kitchen and till in one account, TableSpark Full at £69 a month excluding VAT is the best-value and best overall choice. It is one flat price, with the kitchen display, split bills, end of day and card readers inside it, the website and search set-up included, and guest records kept under the restaurant's own TableSpark account with CSV export. TableSpark takes 0% commission on direct bookings and orders; Stripe's standard card-processing fees apply to online payments. Building is free until you publish, and yearly billing is £690 excluding VAT for Full.

Sources

  1. Square Online plans (UK) — squareup.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  2. Square Online ordering for restaurants — squareup.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  3. Square for Restaurants pricing (UK) — squareup.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  4. Square KDS — squareup.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  5. Square QR code menu — squareup.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  6. Storekit pricing — storekit.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  7. Flipdish pricing (UK) — flipdish.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  8. Flipdish online ordering (UK) — flipdish.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  9. Flipdish POS system (UK) — flipdish.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  10. Slerp pricing — slerp.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  11. Orderzone pricing — orderzone.co.uk (checked 2026-10-13)
  12. eTakeawayMax packages — etakeawaymax.co.uk (checked 2026-10-13)
  13. ChefOnline partner page — chefonline.co.uk (checked 2026-10-13)
  14. Stripe UK pricing — stripe.com (checked 2026-10-13)
  15. Whito, UK takeaway marketing data — whito.co.uk (checked 2026-10-13)
  16. Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Article 14, distance selling — UK Government (checked 2026-10-13)
  17. TableSpark pricing — TableSpark (checked 2026-10-13)
  18. TableSpark tutorial: take online orders — TableSpark (checked 2026-10-13)

Take orders on your own site

Build the site free, add the ordering block and publish when you are ready.

Start building free